What is Visitax, and what do you need to know?


If you have never traveled to our stunning destinations of Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, and Tulum, you may not know what exactly VISITAX is or why it's essential.

On April 1, 2021, Quintana Roo and the Mexican state authority introduced Visitax, a mandatory tourist tax for foreign visitors above the age of 4. This initiative was crucial in keeping the tourism industry afloat during the COVID-19 pandemic. Today, as the country is back on track, your Visitax payment plays a vital role in sustaining and growing our tourism industry.

It's crucial to note Quintana Roo is not the only state that requires a tax such as VISITAX. Over 60 destinations worldwide already require a Visitax-type tourism tax in their area destination. Although not all countries have implemented this tax, many have described it as “the year of the tourist tax.”

Scotland, France, Amsterdam, Paris, Malta, Maldives, Barcelona, Rome, and Florence are some countries and cities already involved with a Visitax-type option.

VISITAX provides our visitors with easy payment of the Tourist Tax to the state of Quintana Roo, its destinations mentioned above, and other destinations in the state. Foreign visitors now pay their tourist tax for their stay at Quintana Roo and other destinations such as Riviera Maya, Puerto Morelos, Grand Costa Maya, Isla Mujeres, and Cancun.

We've made it easy for you to pre-arrange for the payment of your VISITAX before your arrival. Simply use the link below and follow the straightforward steps to ensure a smooth start to your visit!

Visitax Information

We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful destinations!